Roy Franklin


Chair since September 2019. Roy has more than 40 years of experience as an executive in the oil & gas industry. He spent 18 years at BP, latterly as head of M&A, BP Exploration, after which he was group MD of Clyde Petroleum and then CEO of Paladin Resources until its acquisition by Talisman Energy in 2005. Since then Roy has served on a number of international energy boards in non-executive roles, including Amec Foster Wheeler plc.   Until July 2016 he was chairman of the Keller Group PLC.

Roy is currently chairman of Premier Oil plc. He is also chairman of privately-held companies Cuadrilla Resources Ltd and Energean Israel Ltd and a member of the advisory board of Kerogen Capital LLC.

Robin Watson

Chief executive, Wood

Robin was responsible for the creation of Wood when, as Chief Executive of Wood Group, he led the acquisition of Amec Foster Wheeler in 2017. Robin has previously been Chief Operating Officer and an Executive member of the Wood Group Board since January 2013 and CEO of Wood Group’s PSN division since 2012.

Robin has more than 30 years’ engineering and industry experience, with the past 13 years spent in a variety of executive positions and being actively engaged with various industry and Governmental representative bodies, including as Board member of Oil & Gas UK and between 2011 and 2015, on the Scottish Business Board, a cross-industry advisory group to the UK Government.

Robin is a Chartered Mechanical Engineer, a Fellow of both the Institution of Mechanical Engineers and the Energy Institute and holds a Masters of Business Administration (MBA) and an Honours Degree in Offshore & Mechanical Engineering. He also holds a position of Visiting Professor at the Robert Gordon University.

David Kemp

CFO, Wood

Chief financial officer (CFO) since May 2015, David joined Wood Group in 2013 and served as CFO of Wood Group PSN.  He previously served in executive roles at Trap Oil Group, Technip, Simmons and Company International, and Hess Corporation, working across finance, mergers & acquisitions, and operations. David is a member of SCDI North East and of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Scotland.

Jeremy Wilson

Non-executive director and senior independent director

Jeremy spent his career at J.P.Morgan, which he joined in 1987, until retiring in October 2013. He held a series of senior level positions there, including head of the European Mergers and Acquisitions Group, global co-head of the Natural Resources and Diversified Industrials Group, and latterly vice chair of the Energy Group, and was involved in a number of major oil & gas mergers over the years. He is a non-executive director of Tullow Oil plc,  chair of The Lakeland Climbing Centre and lead trustee of the Lakeland Climbing Foundation.

Thomas Botts

Non-executive director

Formerly with Shell for 35 years, latterly as global head of Shell's manufacturing business. He is a non-executive director of EnPro Industries, is co-chair of the Governor's Task Force at the University of Wyoming, a director of the University of Wyoming Foundation and is a long-standing member of the Society of Petroleum Engineers.

Mary Shafer-Malicki

Non-executive director

Worked for Amoco and BP for 26 years, latterly as senior vice president and CEO for BP Angola, with previous appointments in Vietnam, UK, Holland and the US, principally in upstream activities. She is currently a non-executive director of McDermott International, Inc, an independent director of QEP Resources Inc and is a former non-executive director of Ausenco Limited. Mary is a member of industry councils at Oklahoma State University and the University of Wyoming.

Jacqui Ferguson

Non-executive director

Jacqui was senior vice president and general manager of Hewlett Packard Enterprise Services UK, Ireland, Middle East Mediterranean and Africa and prior to this she held a number of senior roles within the technology sector in Europe, the Middle East, Africa, Asia and North America.

Jacqui is a non-executive director of Tesco Bank and of Croda International Plc. She is a Trustee of Engineering UK, a not for profit organisation focussed on developing engineering and technology skills in the UK and a member of the Scottish First Minister’s Advisory Board for Women and Girls.

Jacqui has chaired the public services strategy board for the Confederation of Business and Industry and was a member of the Tech Partnership, the industry body aimed at UK technology skills.  She is a fellow of the institute of Engineering and Technology.

Adrian Marsh

Non-executive director

Adrian has been Group Finance Director of international packaging business, DS Smith plc since September 2013. He was previously Head of Tax, Treasury and Corporate Finance at Tesco plc and has also held divisional CFO positions at both AstraZeneca plc and Pilkington plc.

Birgitte Brinch Madsen, Non-Executive Director

Birgitte Brinch Madsen

Non-executive Director

Birgitte is currently non-executive director of the Danish contracting company, Arkil Holding A/S, a position she has held since April 2019. She is also Non-Executive Director at the Danish fund companies Investeringsforeningen Danske Invest and Investeringsforeningen Danske Invest Select.

Birgitte previously held executive positions as Chief Technical Officer with Maersk FPSO’s, a Business Unit of international logistics company A.P. Moller – Maersk A/S, and as BU Director of the Energy and Industry business of the Danish international engineering consultancy COWI A/S. Birgitte holds a Masters in Economics and Finance from the University of Copenhagen.

*Image © Søren Svendsen, M&L